The Bloggess: One Funny Woman, Y’all

Standard

A Quick and Dirty Post

I am one lucky girl. I had the pleasure of a night out, dinner AFTER bedtime, listening to Jenny Lawson speak, and, BONUS, I got to do all this with two besties. Carla and Lianne you know who you are but I won’t mention you by name here.

Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess. I have to admit I have not been a follower per se. I would read her blogs from time to time but was always too lazy to commit to actually following. In my defense, I have another bestie who has a great blog that went viral and I am still lazy about checking that one! Is that a good defense? Hmm. Imma say ‘yeah’.

The Bloggess is freaking hilarious. Wait. I think she would be offended at me censoring myself so I have to say *fuck. She is fucking hilarious. Seriously. So much so that I am now a follower.  Jenny walked out to speak to us in a choir robe while admitting she was currently on four benadryl and Xanex. The woman is NOT afraid to talk about her anxiety. Hallelujah!

She read The Psychopath on the Other Side of the Bathroom Door from her book and we were rolling. I’m talking tears and the ugly face laugh. Ever been stuck on the toilet after taking too many Ex-Lax, followed by a frappuccino, while simultaneously worrying about there being a rapist on the other side of the bathroom door? The Bloggess has.

Really crappy pic of a really hilarious Bloggess.
Really crappy pic of a really hilarious Bloggess.

The belly laughs continued as she did a Q&A, often answering questions with more stories. We were particularly fascinated with the story of the chocolate vagina. Because of The Bloggess I now have a new favorite quote: “Thank you for the chocolate vagina, but I’m lactose intolerant and not sure how your vagina is going to settle in my stomach”.

This month my fearless book club is reading Jenny Lawson’s book Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir). With chapter titles like My Vagina is Fine, Thanks for Asking, And That’s Why Neil Patrick Harris Would Be the Most Successful Mass Murderer Ever and Thanks for the Zombies, Jesus, this is going be a kick ass book club month.

*Before you get offended, read Jenny’s book. However, if my use of a couple swear words offended you already, then maybe you should choose another.  And if you’re a closeted swear word lover, this book could be your dirty little secret.

Also, I love that I got to use ‘per se’.

Later, y’all.

Leave a Reply

