No Money, No School Lunch. This is a Teachable Moment?

Standard

I feel so sick to my stomach right now I can hardly stand it. Here I was, riding a high from sharing good in the world, happy to be getting to bed at a decent hour, AND I had just registered for my tickets to see A Place at the Table.

So why am I fuming?

Warning: Foul language ahead.

I’m so sorry to bring this to you. I’m sorry you have to hear it. I’m sorry we’re having to talk about it. It sucks to be reminded that shitty stuff happens. To our kids. At school. In a country with an abundant food supply.

But, have you seen this?

Yeah, my day has just ended with that jack wad.

I don’t even know where to start. For now, this:

1. It’s FOX News, so I should have known better than to click, dammit.

2. Could they have found a more Douchey McDoucherson to speak about kids and hunger?

3. We have a rational woman sitting opposite him who gets, oh, about two short comments in.

4. This host…UGH! She keeps trying to soften this terrible, terrible policy and make this guy feel at home while her other guest has a strangled look. Scroll up and look at her again. I think Ms. Reasonable Guest is trying to hold it together for tv. Well, hold it together or not let the vomit actually come OUT of her mouth. Poor thing.

Unfortunately for Mr. Psychotherapist School Counselor, he chose to be the face of this policy on air and say some incredibly stupid shit. So yeah, I’m going off on him. With his big smile and nonchalant attitude while talking about hungry, humiliated children, I can’t imagine he has a fragile psyche. I wonder if he has suffered through his share of “teachable moments“.  What grounds does he have for insisting children have “teachable moments” of hunger and embarrassment? This is disgusting.

And then, while talking about kids NOT being able to eat, he jokes about not being broke even after HANDING OUT ALL HIS CASH to kids at school! What happened to the teachable moment, jerk? I thought you wanted them to go hungry so they would learn!

Learn what?

I wonder if Mr. Psychotherapist School Counselor understands the first thing about Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. I wonder if Mr. Psychotherapist School Counselor understands why I’m spitting fire.

You will have to forgive me. It’s late. And I’m pissed. And I should have just gone to bed. And maybe I can express myself more eloquently tomorrow.

Watch the video. I can’t break it down much more than that right now because I’m tired and too pissed. If you can’t understand my anger at this, then I probably couldn’t make you understand anyway. And I’ve already called him names and likely made my mother in law upset with my language. So, more on this later because we DO need to know more about this policy and where and how often it’s being utilized. Until then, hug your kids, high five and smile at other kids. Remind them that they are seen and that the world can be a good place with people that care.

Talk to you later.

3 responses »

  1. I’m really disturbed that a purported school counselor and psychotherapist could think that way. First, you don’t let a child go hungry. Ever. Second, throwing food in the trash because you feel your state spent too much on food makes zero sense. Third, 1 in 5 children has food insufficiency or insecurity in our rich-ass nation. So STFU with your smarmy “they’re not gonna starve” crap. Fourth, what if the child’s parent has addiction, health, or mental health problems? “Sorry your dad drank all the lunch money, but we are going to have to make you go hungry because you haven’t been punished enough.” Urghhh!! I’m equally appalled, Michelle. What an entitled a-hole.

  2. It’s because the district gets money from the government GREED.. it comes down to that.. NO KID IS GOING TO STARVE.. you ASSHAT!!! it happens every day!! Are you that out of touch!!! Some kids have parents only in name not in actual help , they dress themselves and get themselves there all on their own. This guys obviously works and lives in a 2% free and reduced district not a 60% or 80% district where there ARE kids who starve and parents who completely ignore what their kids need as far as school is concerned!

Leave a Reply

